FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Prof
Hi all,

I am very new to plants of any description. My only success with plants is being able to kill them in very short order.

So, I wanted to try a Venus flytrap but the only one I could find was reduced to clear due to it being close to death anyway. I thought that this maybe something to start with, at the worst case, it would only speed up the usual outcome :( However, after a day with water and under a cheap LED propagator it has gone greener. I am unsure how wet the soil needs to be, and also I do not know if I need to trim the really dead bits off it. Having seen that I have given some life to my little plant, I would love to see it get really healthy again. Any suggestions?
Attachments:
IMG_20240403_082814_056.jpg
IMG_20240403_082814_056.jpg (3.04 MiB) Viewed 378 times
IMG_20240403_082017_849.jpg
IMG_20240403_082017_849.jpg (2.68 MiB) Viewed 378 times
IMG_20240403_082012_321.jpg
IMG_20240403_082012_321.jpg (2.83 MiB) Viewed 378 times
IMG_20240403_082003_189.jpg
IMG_20240403_082003_189.jpg (2.56 MiB) Viewed 378 times
By Panman
The light you have it under is not nearly enough. Flytraps need 4 to 6 hours of unobstructed direct sunlight (no window) at a minimum. Indoors they require very strong lights for an extended period of time, often 16 hours. If you can look at the light and it is not uncomfortable, the light is not strong enough. You should only be watering with distilled, reverse osmosis, or rain water. Using tap water may kill the plant, depending on the water chemistry. That pot should sit in a plastic tray that will hold about 1/2 inch of water. Allow the tray to dry out before refilling it.
By Intheswamp