FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By LazyDaisy
Hello! I bought this raised planter made of fir wood a few days ago:
firefox_00bf98nLV0.png
firefox_00bf98nLV0.png (543.31 KiB) Viewed 497 times
My plan is to make a cage out of hardware cloth to secure over the top of it to keep the squirrels out (held with bungee cords maybe?). I'm not planting directly into it, just using it to hold containers since it can get pretty windy, especially during severe storms. I figured this would be good to keep my little guys from getting toppled (from both furry pests and the wind :D ). Some of my smaller containers might also need "booster seats" so they don't sit too deep, I was thinking some bricks would solve that issue.

What do you think? I'm new to this so all input is valued. Also, do you think it would be worth the time putting a seal on the wood?
By andynorth
I was actually thinking of buying that same planter. Glad to see I am not alone. I however decided against it since all my plants would require around 6 or more.
Yes, if you plan to leave it outside for an extended time I would definitely give it a few coats of a good sealant. The kind used on decks would work great. Also, to raise your smaller plants I would consider blocks of wood instead of bricks. The plants with soil in them will be enough weight to keep them from tipping over. Keep us posted on how it goes for you. Good luck.
LazyDaisy liked this
By LazyDaisy
andynorth wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 9:14 pm I was actually thinking of buying that same planter. Glad to see I am not alone. I however decided against it since all my plants would require around 6 or more.