FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By gatoruss
Newbie here from Central Florida. Have always loved VFTs since watching "Little Shop of Horrors."

Over the years, I have had a few VFTs. Helped my daughter with a science project involving VFTs 10-15 years ago.

I want to try my hand at propagating some VTF from seed, and maybe some day try my hand at tissue culture (to see if I can).

Ordered some NC seeds (https://www.flytrapcare.com/store/north ... -trap-seed) and red leaf seeds https://www.flytrapcare.com/store/venus ... d-seed-mix from FlyTrapStore.com.

8-) Wish me luck!
Savethetrees4life liked this
By Intheswamp
gatoruss wrote: Thu Jul 21, 2022 12:04 pm I want to try my hand at propagating some VTF from seed, and maybe some day try my hand at tissue culture (to see if I can).
Welcome to the forum. The FTS is a good source for your seeds, good choice! Sounds like you've got a long-range plan mapped out! Do you currently have any VFTs growing now? Growing from seed usually is stated as taking from two to four years to raise a plant to maturity.

I don't believe in luck so I'll just say, "Best wishes!!!". :D
By gatoruss
Intheswamp wrote: Thu Jul 21, 2022 1:17 pm
gatoruss wrote: Thu Jul 21, 2022 12:04 pm I want to try my hand at propagating some VTF from seed, and maybe some day try my hand at tissue culture (to see if I can).
Welcome to the forum. The FTS is a good source for your seeds, good choice! Sounds like you've got a long-range plan mapped out! Do you currently have any VFTs growing now? Growing from seed usually is stated as taking from two to four years to raise a plant to maturity.

I don't believe in luck so I'll just say, "Best wishes!!!". :D
I do not, and your point is well taken. I will be on the lookout for an interesting candidate.
Intheswamp liked this
By Intheswamp
Welcome to the forum. Where are you located?