FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By PetroleumJunkie412
So, I lowballed a make offer on an eBay auction, and am now unexpectedly the owner of a N. Edwardsiana. I certainly did not expect to have the offer accepted, nor did I expect to ever have one of these plants.

...I have no idea how the crap I'm going to grow this thing.

I've heard it's a highlander, it's an ultra highlander, and it's an intermediate grower. I've read forum posts where people have argued these points to death, and now I'm just confused.

Anyone have any advice on how I can avoid killing this thing? I'm no expert grower, but I'm no slouch either. Sure, I've killed a few plants. Who hasn't. But I've also convinced my bicalcarata to grow as a highlander and gotten a few hundred nepenthes seedlings growing without losing any sprouted plants.

So I'm looking for the hardline do's and don'ts for this species. Watering, temperature, media, humidity, light, etc. Personaity quarks like hamata's aversion to overhead watering, etc.

Thanks all!
PetroleumJunkie412 liked this
By SerMuncherIV
I've only had mine for a few months but it grows fine for me as a standard HL plant with high light, high humidity, and a 15-20F temp drop at night, doesn't seem to be particularly slow either. I was told by the seller to keep it slightly on the drier side. I'm sure someone else with more experience with this species can chime in, I know there are plenty of growers who have tried growing it in lower humidity, higher temperatures, etc.
By Leathal_Traps
Not a hard plant to grow at all. I heard exotica plants has a few in their LL greenhouse but I don't recommend you do that. Treat it as a standard intermediate/HL and it will do great.
By Chipi3s