FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By MrB1664
Hi all. I’m thinking of trying to grow my VFTs in long fibre sphagnum.. Mostly because I’ve heard carnivorous plants love the stuff and because the UK has now banned the sale of peat moss.. I’ve looked at the coir option and to me it looks like a pain in the ass to prepare with the desalination process and all that so I’m not really wanting to go down that route.. Any tips or advice on the use of sphagnum? Is it worth it? Anything I need to be aware of? I’m fairly new to this game so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers
By ChefDean
It's definitely a great media, my plants seemed to do better in it. However, the cost for quality LFSM is usually the deciding factor that pushes most growers to peat and perlite or sand. It usually comes down to switch, or limit the size of your collection so you're not mortgaging your house to buy LFSM every couple of years.
With the UK peat ban, that option is taken from you, so plan on spending extra on media unless you can find an economical option. Or, start soaking and draining coir to wash out all the salts.
Good luck.
MrB1664 liked this
By andynorth
Soaking and cleaning coco coir is not too much of a pain, but then I have othere alternatives. What I did was used the less expensive LFSM for the bottom half of my media and the premium stuff for the top half. I will not know until sunmer whether or not it actually works. I hope so because I have close to 40 planted up that way.
MrB1664 liked this
By Intheswamp