FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Ryleigh Witt
What can I do to save it? It’s mushy and starting to turn yellow/brown. Any suggestions?
By Ryleigh Witt
Here! Sorry, I thought attached one earlier
Attachments:
image.jpg
image.jpg (3.02 MiB) Viewed 838 times
By Panman
We're probably going to need more information. How long have you had the plant? What kind of soil is it potted in? Is that a plastic or terracotta pot? What kind of water are you using? Does it normally sit in as much water as is shown in the photo? What kind of light is it getting? Finally, where are you located? These things should help us troubleshoot your problem.
By Ryleigh Witt
I haven’t had the plant long, just a few days I’m new to this. It’s a terracotta pot with distilled water, no there normally isn’t that much water it’s what a friend told me to do but so far it isn’t helping. It’s kept under grow lights about 8 inches. I did some research before getting it but now I’m starting to question what I did, I am located in Michigan.
By Panman
Okay, so the terracotta pot will be a problem long term, but it isn't likely the cause of your problem. Terracotta will leach minerals into the soil that are toxic for flytraps. Plastic pots are the safest but you can also used glazed pots as long as the entire pot is glazed.

Distilled water is good.

Grow lights may also be a problem long term but not your current problem. Flytraps need very intense light. At least 6 hours of unobstructed, direct sunlight per day. With a good grow light you can get away with 12 to 16 hours of light per day indoors.