FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By Anzenix
So I am trying to come up with some ideas/designs to make a small-ish bog for a couple of Sarracenias I acquired recently. I like to get a bit creative at times but I don't want to overthink it (still a newbie here). I hear that these plants tend to like running water so would it be weird to have clusters at different heights on an incline with a water pump at the end for creating running water? Does speed of the running water or water temp. (I believe it needed to be cool for the most part) factor in by any chance?

Just random thoughts but it would help a lot to get some insight on how others have approached their design when making a mini bog. Hope to hear from some of you, thank you!
By Panman
Running water isn't necessary for Sarrs. Darlingtonia tend to like it in warmer climates. An important thing to consider is the size of the pot. It needs to be deep enough for Sarracenia roots. I would recommend at least 8 inches or more deep. You will also want it big enough that you don't have to redo it soon. A small sarr can quickly fill an 8 inch container. I'd recommend that you have enough space that each plant has an 8 inch diameter in which to grow. That should allow you to only need to repot after a couple of years.
By Anzenix
Mkay, I'm not working with Darlingtonia at the moment so I can probably scratch this idea then. So an 8-in pot for each plant, and just do something more simple like placing them in one of those blue kids pool I see sometimes w/ water? Do you think there would be a merit to doing something different?
By Panman