FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Post here to organize or join a group order

Moderator: Matt

By evenwind
Not sure whether this is worth a new thread or not...

My only choice for VFT dormancy is the refrigerator method. I've been decreasing the photoperiod for a couple of months now so that they're ready to be stashed them away once the Thanksgiving goodies vacate the fridge. (I've been taking them out again mid-to-late March.)

Now I've got 6 new C&M VFTs that have been thru plant hell for the last month or so. They're potted up and are receiving the same shortened "daylight" as the rest of my plants. They're obviously not going to be recovered in the next week or so when my other plants are due to be refrigerated.

So, I'm not at all sure what I should do about their dormancy. Should I let them recover for maybe 5 or 6 weeks and then refrigerate them for 3 months? Stick them in cold storage at the same time as everything else (ie. before they're recovered), figuring that they are already in dormancy? Skip dormancy for the year?

Anybody got any thoughts?

Thanks.
By sbrooks
I would think either way would work, but since they are already essentially dormant, I would probably go ahead and stash them when you stash the rest. I might have even changed out their wrapping and plastic and stuck them in the fridge right after receiving. But then again, I have never used the refrigerator method.
IMO, the least preferred method would be to skip dormancy.
sbrooks liked this
By katya_dog1
Yes. Skipping dormancy is definitely a no-no. A light 8 week dormancy should do them fine for this year. I'd just give them a month or so to recover before sticking them in with your other plants.

But-- I'm no expert on fridge dormancy. I'm just offering up an idea.
katya_dog1 liked this
By TS 1989
evenwind wrote:Not sure whether this is worth a new thread or not...