FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By TomGhoulery
I’m new to carnivorous plants, and I got my sundew around a month and a half ago. I read it should start producing dew after a few weeks, but nothings happened yet. I did a bit of research why, and the likely answer is that my house isn’t humid. So I researched all these different ways to increase humidity. I gave it a little pebble tray, and surrounded it with some other plants. But still, it won’t grow dew. So that’s the first question, what else could/should I do to make it grow dew? Second of all, I think it somehow caught something anyway???? I looked at it the other day, and it seems to have caught a little fly. I don’t know how this is possible. Other than that, it seems to be growing as normal. There’s new growth coming from the middle and around it. Any advice?
By ChefDean
Sundews can pout for a long time after changing environments, but should have started to come around after six weeks. Typically, if they're not producing dew, it's either not enough light or water. Humidity isn't too much of a factor.
Assuming it's in the proper media and pot, with low mineral water in a shallow plastic dish without the pebbles, put it on a sunny windowsill. You could also put it outside in bright, indirect light, as long as the temperature doesn't get more than about 85°F.
However, a pic of the plant could help us see if there may be other factors affecting it.
Gary, wcrosman, Intheswamp and 1 others liked this
By Gary
I had a similar problem with my first Cape. I tried lots of ways to raise humidity around the plant, misted it several times a day (not really a good idea), all to no avail. Sunlight, and lots of it, will fix your issue. You may need to be careful at first so the leaves don't burn, but after my dry Capes got in the sun they were drowning in dew.