FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about fluorescent, LED and other types of grow lighting for Venus Flytraps and other plants

Moderator: Matt

By Peenutbutter
Hi everyone, I found some very sorry looking plants in the 'rescue' part of my local garden centre last week and felt so sorry for them I brough them home.
Ive never had carniverous plants before, but am a big houseplant person.

I currently have them housed in my office at work, with LED lights on for 12 hours a day. I repotted them into carniverous plant compost and they are sat in a saucer with about 2-3 cm of De-Ionised water (i work in a lab and this was the quickest i could find as they were very dried out when i got them). Temperature in my office is around the 24 oc during the day.
The fly trap has perked up a little and has even opened a trap. I gave him a little amount of crushed and reconstituted mealwork and calci worm. I also cut of quite a tall flower.
The sundew is looking very sorry for herself, more leaves/flowers seem to be dying off every day and there is no dew at all.
Just after some advice please. I know the conditions are not the ideal, but is there anything i can improve for them ?
Attachments:
20240312_124222.jpg
20240312_124222.jpg (3.45 MiB) Viewed 501 times
20240312_124214.jpg
20240312_124214.jpg (3.34 MiB) Viewed 501 times
By Intheswamp
Welcome to the forum. I would say for one thing is that the plant needs probably more light than what it's getting...more intensity and more time (like 16-18 hours per day). Where are you located (nearest large city is close enough) so we can get an idea of climate?
By Peenutbutter
Hi, I'm located in County Durham (UK) - Pretty rainy cold weather 95% of the time

Are there better lights i can buy for them ?...these ones do go brighter than i currently have them, and i can leave the lights on for longer.
By Intheswamp