FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Minora
I have had my traps for about six months now and since we are going into the fall season, I'm a little confused. This is my first time owning a venus fly trap and for all of summer it was perfectly fine! For some reason now, it has developed these red stripes, almost holes in the leaves and traps. It started slowly and then moved on to the other traps in the pot. I've scoured the internet and can't find any pictures remotely like it. Seeing as venus fly traps die fast, I'm extremely worried
Attachments:
20221009_150320.jpg
20221009_150320.jpg (4 MiB) Viewed 2506 times
20221009_150330.jpg
20221009_150330.jpg (2 MiB) Viewed 2506 times
By ChefDean
Venus flytraps do not die fast if properly taken care of. What you have are classic signs of spider mites. You'll want to begin treatment with a strong miticide to stop them in their tracks now. They (spider mites) overwinter in the media, so they won't die during dormancy, and will need to be eradicated with a chemical attack.
Minora liked this
By -Stanley-
ChefDean wrote:Venus flytraps do not die fast if properly taken care of. What you have are classic signs of spider mites. You'll want to begin treatment with a strong miticide to stop them in their tracks now. They (spider mites) overwinter in the media, so they won't die during dormancy, and will need to be eradicated with a chemical attack.
Are you sure? My DC XL had that, then I moved it inside and it went away. I have a feeling the sun just lazered the leaves for mine.
By ChefDean
-Stanley- wrote: Tue Oct 11, 2022 2:54 am But can it also happen because the leaf was lazered by the sun? Can a Vft leaf get lazered by the sun?