FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Brothnaken
So, I am very new to gardening (like, this is my first season), especially carnivorous plants, but, I want to grow a pink sundew (Drosera capillaris) because I live in central Arkansas and my property has a bug problem and pink sundew's native population is dropping. I know that they can grow in Arkansas, but they grow in glass land, I have an old growth forest, there are a few clearings, so there are places for complete and direct sunlight. The ground is rocky and a lot of the clearings are clay (I can't get the pH because I am 11 miles away right now and I don't have pH testing tools) Is this possible? Or should I plant it in a pot outside and let it's seeds try to make it work? Also, since I want them to get a foothold here, how many should I plant? Is one enough?
By ChefDean
They won't grow in nutrient rich soil and, believe it or not, clay is very nutrient rich. Plus, for bug control, you'd need thousands and thousands of plants.
Your idea won't work, sorry.
By Brothnaken
That's fine. There is a reason I was asking.
By Fishkeeper
Bugs are the foundation of the ecosystem. Killing them off en masse is hurting ecosystems worldwide- they aren't meant to be absent from any area. Unless the bugs are a harmful invasive (nonnative!) species, they're meant to be there, and you're better off working with them than trying to get rid of them. If there is a harmfully large amount of a native insect species, that means something is out of whack, and fixing that something will fix your problem. It's rather likely, though, that you don't have a bug problem any more than your forests have a tree problem or the grasslands have a grass problem.