FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Dejavert
Hi folks, a little bit about myself:
I've been collecting houseplants for a year or so with a special interest in aroids. When I was younger I thought I couldn't keep any plants alive but once I discovered grow lights and soil ammendments I was hooked. Carnivorous plants seemed far too ambitious when I couldn't keep anything else alive, but since everything else is going so smoothly I decided to give it a try. I've been keeping reptiles for over 10 years so I always have an extra tank hanging around. This seemed like a great opportunity to start a bog so I strapped some T8 lights to the top and decided to get moving.

I'm mostly just working on planting out my tank right now, experimenting, and reading literature about carnivorous plants online. I maaaay have sort of jumped off the deep end, but luckily I do have plenty of room under other grow lights in case I have to pull anyone out of the bog. Here's what we have so far: Image

I'm certainly open to constructive feedback and hopefully I can grow and change while my plants grow and change too! Right now I'm very interested in starting to grow from seed.
Attachments:
1000013648_50.jpg
1000013648_50.jpg (1.17 MiB) Viewed 489 times
By Panman
It's a beautiful setup. Just be aware, terrariums for carnivorous plants are tricky. There is no flow of water and the bott layers of the soil start to sour. I'd like to know what media and rocks you have in there. Carnivorous plants are very mineral sensitive and the wrong soil or rocks can poison them.
Dejavert liked this
By Dejavert