FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Hungry_I
Hi,

Newbie here. I've never grown any carnies from seeds so thought I'd try after reading much about it BUT reading isn't doing. I appreciate any of your tips on growing VFT seeds, send them my way :D

I bought 60 VFT seeds from the flytrapstore and I planted about 10 seeds so far in early December - fingers crossed they'll grow.

They're on LFS moss, indoors, water TDS: 0 ppm, and strong grow LED lights: 100W.
StephenB200+ liked this
By Intheswamp
I'm no guru, especially on flytraps, but... :)

I'd plant a few more seeds. At least maybe ten or fifteen or twenty. Flytraps do grow *slowly* and you most likely aren't going to get 100% germination. Also, some seedlings will just...croak...on you. Why not plant more seeds, maybe a total of half of them so the odds of getting several adults over the next couple of years will be better? You can save the other half of the seeds for "insurance" in case something happens to the first batch. And, if the first batch does good you can always come behind it with a second batch. It sounds like you've done you homework on providing good conditions for germination. Just be sure they stay moist. Fresh air exchange is good to have...if they're uncovered they're getting the exchange they need...if you have them covered to raise the humidity then opening the dome a few times a day is good as is putting holes in it. Once they start germinating I would (personally) remove the dome to help thwart mold, mildew, and fungus. What temperature are they germinating in? ....78-90F is often mentioned as a good temperature range.

Looks like you're on your way! Best wishes!
StephenB200+ liked this
By Hungry_I