FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By The Mighty Thor
First of all I would like to say hello to everyone here and I have very little experience in keeping carniverous plants (alive). :(

I recently ordered three venus flytraps from http://bugbitingplants.com/intelligent_plant_light.php; a regular, dente, and royal red. I bought a nifty little grow light with them (9 watt) and I am waiting for everything to come in the mail.

If they last a while then I would like to move them into a terrarium, probably a 10-30 gallon fishtank with a screen top and better lighting system.
I read that venus flytraps are not well suited for terrariums because they don't get enough light and because of mildew accumulating in the terrarium. Unfortunately my current housing situation prevents me from growing them outside. Which is very unfortunate because im in Florida.

With that being said, I would like to post photographes of the terrariums progress when/if I start. If you could give me advice and negative/positive criticism that would be great.
By Matt
Hello and welcome to flytrapcare!

You're in Florida huh? Why do you want to move them into a terrarium? Just grow them under your light or in a windowsill. Though, to survive long term, they're going to need a dormancy. Do you have any way to provide that? I'd imagine that may be tough to do in Florida. You might have to use the fridge method.
By The Mighty Thor
I would have to use the fridge method. When doing this do you still need to keep light on the plants? What happens if you keep them the same temperature around the year and not simulate a dormancy period?
By Matt
The Mighty Thor wrote:I would have to use the fridge method. When doing this do you still need to keep light on the plants?