FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Hedonista
Hey y’all, I’m brand new to carnivorous plants. I’ve almost purchased those big box store flytraps a few times, but they always look so sad. Anyway, I like a challenge, so I thought I would start by trying to grow something from the seed bank. I currently grow mostly succulents, Meyer lemons and cacti indoors, and I had my first actual garden last year, all grown from seed. The lemons and cacti are from seed as well.

I know carnivorous plants need completely different conditions than anything else I grow, so that is going to be a very big learning curve, but I’m excited to give it a try. I’m so glad I found this forum to help me out!

I live up north somewhat near Fargo, where it regularly gets below -30F, and the snow stays several feet deep all winter (except this year; thank you El Niño!). The summers here are short and hot, with long days. Average humidity in the summer, dry as a bone in the winter. So my plants will probably have to be indoors most of the time.

Can’t wait to get to know y’all and your plants!
By andynorth
Welcome. Feel free to ask questions and browse around the forum. Plenty of nice, knowledgeable folks here that are ready to help out in any way they can. I joined in April of 2023 and I am very happy I did. There were times I was ready to "throw in the towel" but that did not happen because of the knowledge everyone is willing to share. If you like Sarracenia's, I would highly recommend jumping on the Flytrap Store's Winter/Spring Sarrs sale. For $30.00 you will receive 3 really nice Sarrs that are both large and hardy. Hurry though, once the sale is over you will not be able to get them again until next year. For pics of some that I purchased you can take a look at my grow list, linked at the bottom of this page.
Hedonista liked this
By evenwind