FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Nikson
Hey all,

I'm honestly at my wits end with my cape sundews. I've been growing the same plants for around 2-3 years now and they just keep doing super poorly.

My original cape sundew grew super well under my Yescom225 growlights (14 hours a day under timers), but then one day just turned into a stump and only put out little tiny traps, then suddenly grew into like three plants. They started to grow nice big and healthy with tons of dew, but now lately they're starting to do the same thing again where they grow new leaves and they seem to struggle to "unfurl" all the way, and there's barely any dew. It put out a flower during summer, if that helps.

From this main plant I propagated a bunch of babies from leaves two years back and they grew decently sized before suddenly all declining and dying out of nowhere.

My second cape sundew seems to be doing the same thing, it came as a weedy small plant, grew super well, then one day just randomly declined and turned into a stumpy little plant. It's still growing, but it just puts out tiny stumpy leaves.

They're all under Yescom225 growlights for 14 hours a day, about 8 inches underneath. It's usually 70-75F inside the room they're in. Distilled water bottom watering only. LFSM and peat moss/perlite mixes for the two plants. I feed them MaxSea every once in a while when they have dew, and they catch little gnats that fly around. 50% humidity.

Is there something I've overlooked in caring for these, or is this just normal for sundews?

By Intheswamp
*Maybe top water some to wash out any built up "stuff" in the grow mix.
*If they're catching gnats then I think I'd hold off on the Maxsea.
*When is the last time that you repotted?