FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Jack Hoo
Hi there. My name is Jack and I have been caring for Venus flytraps for a little over 2 years now. We live in South Florida, that means a lot of heat and a lot of storms.

I started with one, her name is Cleopatra. Bought her in an Aldi here, and I fell in love with them. I inmedialy looked up the best soil, water, and growing conditions to them, II tried my best to stick to that, but our rain doesnt make it easy ^^'.

When I first repotted her, I discovered her rhimezome was splitting, so I ended with a Baby trap, named him Caesarion, who unfortunately didnt survive the summer, it was just too hot and I didnt water them one day (yes, one day of no water in the summer can be THAT BAD). Cleopatra pulled through though.

Starting this year, I expanded the family and got myself 3 more plants, named: Achilles, Hannibal, and Julius Ceasar. I repotted them all (including Cleopatra) on amixture of peat moss, sand and perlite, I rinsed it with distilled water to reduce the minerals and particles in the water. One Idea I had though was making the top layer Long fibered sphagmun Moss, because one of the main challenges that we face is that our rain is very heavy and pelting during summer, Cleopatra had a hard time, so I figured that the sphagmun moss would provide some additional protection being a bit of a cushion for the plants, but most of the pot is the mix of sand, perlite and peat.

the new plants are looking good, specially Julius Ceasar. Hannibal and Achilles were nto too pretty, most of the traps died, but I see A LOT of new growth coming form under the old traps, so I think they will be fine.

Cleopatra However.... I'm worried about her.