FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By andynorth
So I tested my water using a aquarium strips and was wondering if anyone can tell me what I am looking for as far as chloramine goes. I know we have it in our water as I asked the water company. I just can not find a test for it. The results are in picture. Everything seems relatively low to me but I am no expert on water. One thing I will note, the Total Alkalinity actually is less than that shown. It says to check that after about 15 seconds and it was lighter. However, it said to wait at least a minute for the Nitrite and Nitrate results, both of which have no reading.
Attachments:
20240509_195245.jpg
20240509_195245.jpg (2.44 MiB) Viewed 441 times
By Panman
The ones that you are most interested in are the Chlorine, Total Hardness, and Carbonate Hardness. The hardness numbers look fine. They are all below 50. You will occasionally need to rinse water trays to remove excess salt, but not frequently and it will not build up in the pots too quickly. The chlorine can be a problem straight from the tap. The easiest way to deal with chlorine is a cheap carbon filter. Although it is presently unavailable, this is what I have on my spigot outside that is attached to the water hose.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07KB ... UTF8&psc=1
I check the water every couple of months to ensure that the filter is still good and doesn't need to be replaced.

Regarding chloramine, your test strips don't have a test for it, and it is harder to remove from the water. I haven't had to do that, so I don't have a suggestion for you other than an RO filter.
By andynorth