FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By AllPanicNoDisco
Hi! My name is Erika, and I’m a newbie when it comes to Venus fly traps and their care. My husband bought me one a little over a year ago, and I’ve just been googling things, and winging it. 😆 I have kept her in the window sill in my kitchen since I got her, and she’s been doing pretty well until recently. One of the traps closed on a slug. It stayed closed for nearly 2 weeks until this morning I noticed the trap had finally opened, but it’s starting to curl on the end. There are two other traps that are really small and curled on the edges, but they’ve been there for a while.. they should be bigger. I googled what could be causing the two small traps to be stunted and curled- google says improper light/water could be the cause. I have only given distilled water, and haven’t moved the plant from the window sill, so it’s had the same light source since the beginning. I don’t really have any other spots with good natural light inside my house… should I move her outside to my porch? It’s a covered porch, but it gets good indirect sunlight throughout the day. I live in northwest Florida. Humidity isn’t an issue at all lol. Any tips/advice is greatly appreciated!

Photo added for reference. I tried to get a photo with both the small, curled trap, and the trap that stayed closed for 2 weeks, then opened this morning with a curled end.
Attachments:
IMG_5172.jpeg
IMG_5172.jpeg (845.79 KiB) Viewed 249 times
By ChefDean
It's slowly dying due to lack of light. These need direct, unfiltered sunlight, and modern glass filters light enough so that it is insufficient for their needs. A cloudy day outside is still better than the sunniest windowsill you can find.