FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Dragon_trap156
I heard that keeping your Venus fly trap outdoors is best when growing it, however, my neighborhood has a lot of cats and kids outside that might mess with the plant. My Venus fly trap is still pretty small and I don’t want it to get ruined. I bought a new lightbulb for my lamp to replicate sunlight so hopefully that shouldn’t be a problem.
By ChefDean
The light requirements for a VFT are such that indoors is almost always a poor choice. To equal what the sun provides for free, you'll need to have them under strong artificial lights for 16 hours a day or more. I'm not an expert on artificial lighting, I'm cheap and use the sun, but I'd hazard a guess that the bulb you have is insufficient. Direct, unfiltered sunlight for about six hours a day is sufficient, but a sunny windowsill is not direct, and it'll slowly die from lack of light. Modern glass filters sunlight so that outside on a cloudy day is better than the sunniest of windowsills.
I know what you're thinking, but moving it outside for a few hours, then inside to keep it away from the critters is worse. Now you've got the plant trying to adapt to two different environments, and it'll slowly die from stress.
If the critter problem is that bad, you'd be better off making a cage to protect it from them. If that's not possible, maybe look at trading the VFT for a sundew. Most of those will be more than happy on a sunny windowsill, away from critters.
optique, andynorth, evenwind and 1 others liked this
By evenwind
ChefDean wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 2:48 pm ...maybe look at trading the VFT for a sundew. Most of those will be more than happy on a sunny windowsill, away from critters.
Or a Mexican pinguicula.
ChefDean liked this
By andynorth