FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Barlapipas 6
Some type of moss is growing together with my sundews. Is this sphagnum moss that regrew from the dried, or is it some other type of moss?
By Barlapipas 6
Attachments:
The moss
The moss
5FEF3006-BC5B-4AB7-B9B9-3D9D2F9F211A.jpeg (1.2 MiB) Viewed 2103 times
By Intheswamp
It "looks" like live sphagnum moss to me, but I'm no expert. Growing out of dried sphagnum moss is a good indication that it's sphagnum.

You may end up with a nice chunk of sphagnum growing there that you can propagate into a nice stock of moss!!! ;)
By ChefDean
Dry sphagnum moss isn't necessarily dead, it can simply be dormant. I have a few pots that have live sphagnum that resurrected, and a ton of others that have star moss or forest moss that grew from spores in the sphagnum.
I think you may have star moss there, which is fine, but it can choke out plants if allowed to, especially seedlings. Just keep an eye on it.
Intheswamp liked this
By Intheswamp
IMHO (and my very inexperienced moss identification history 8-) )... Looking at the leaves they seem broader at the base and more whorled than star or haircap moss does...the latter two seem to have more narrower leaves than sphagnum does. Sphagnum also seems to me to be more "juicy" than haircap or star mosses...giving the sphagnum an almost translucent look about it. That's my story and I'm sticking with it! (Until proven otherwise, of course, then I'll switch boats in a heartbeat!!! :lol: )