FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By triffidlover
Hi
I am a relative newbie to carnivorous plants. Please post pictures of your terrarium set up for me to see. I will soon be getting some plants from Kheen's Carnivors - I have a ten gallon tank with a mixture of half perlite and half peat moss. But I am aware that some just put the plants, pot and all, into an empty fish tank and add water before putting on the top. Do you just let them sit in the water all the time? Do you change the water occasionally? How often do you add water? (I use melted snow or rainwater). I am hoping that by using an arrangement where I put plants into water it will help plants not to get transplant shock. Show me how you do it. Thanks!
By Matt
Hello triffidlover,

I think it's best to keep your plants in pots if you decide to put them into a terrarium. Growing them in a terrarium is hard to do and it really is only a matter of time before you'll see fungus or mold in the terrarium. If you don't have them in pots where you can easily take one out with mold on it, then you have to dig them all up.

Also, why are you choosing to use a terrarium? What kind of plants are you growing? If you're just growing Venus flytraps, you can just set them on a sunny windowsill. Here's what I do with my plants when it's too cold outside for them:
http://www.flytrapcare.com/carnivorous- ... ogger=Matt

That's a south facing window that gets about 8 hours of direct sunlight this time of year. The room is unheated, so the plants are able to experience dormancy.