FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By BxndiTSold
Hey so im kinda new to growing vfts but im sorta getting the hang of it? I had 3 b52 VFTS that I grew indoors last summer and they thrived until aboht august, all the sudden all the traps on the plant closed and stayed closed, I felt maybe it was crown rot or pests? Because what would trigger that, but anyways the conclusion I came too was that the medium was too wet and b52 succumb to disease easier then other cultivars, but my question is, for watering with the tray method, when do I know to fill it up with water and about how much water do I fill it with? And what’s too much? And what’s too little, i just don’t wanna underwater or overwater my flytraps
By Panman
Flytraps have roots about 5 or 6 inches long and they do not like their roots sitting in water all of the time. So, if you are watering with the tray method, water enough to keep the plant wet without letting the roots sit below the water line. Generally speaking, I allow the tray to dry out before watering again.
By BxndiTSold
Okay that’s what I been doing pretty much too but it’s okay if the medium is still wet when I fill the tray right? Some people say to let the top of the medium dry out and then some say not to but they like it moist in my experience anyways
By Intheswamp
BxndiTSold wrote:Okay that’s what I been doing pretty much too but it’s okay if the medium is still wet when I fill the tray right? Some people say to let the top of the medium dry out and then some say not to but they like it moist in my experience anyways
Panman's been growing CPs for a while, he won't lean you wrong.