FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By CaptainMalnacido
Greetings! its my first year owning Drosera Regia so i have some questions regarding the watering and heat. I have these 2 since 7 to 8 months ago, which means spring will come soon where i live (Mexico), which means temperatures will reach 33-37c during the day in 2 months or so. I have them both under 50% aluminet shade cloth most of the day with around 1 hour of direct sun aroun 4 to 5 pm to 6pm and potted onto 28x19cm cylindrical styrfoam fridges each. So far i top water every 2 weeks which seems enough but im usure if its too much or too little when the spring kicks in, should i water more often? would adding more shading be preferable? Thanks for reading!
Attachments:
The plants when they were in october
P13-10-22_12.281.jpg (1.13 MiB) Viewed 1455 times
P13-10-22_12.28.jpg (934.88 KiB) Viewed 1455 times
The styrfoam bin
The styrfoam bin
IMG_1144.jpg (1.4 MiB) Viewed 1455 times
Current
Current
IMG_1143.jpg (2.23 MiB) Viewed 1455 times
Current
Current
IMG_1141.jpg (1.41 MiB) Viewed 1455 times
By nimbulan
Could you provide more details about your climate? What are the expected normal day and night temps during summer? I personally grow my regia out in full sun sitting next to my Sarracenia in water trays. I will sometimes have long periods of time where daytime high temps exceed 35C and may exceed 40C for a couple days on occasion, but with low temps in the low 20's or below. The low night temps do a lot to help the plants tolerate heat.
By CaptainMalnacido