FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Intheswamp
post423452.html#p423452

The thread/post above details the sundews that I started stratifying back on....November 8th, 2022. I strongly suggest a reminder be put into your smart phone...not that I'd have forgot about them or anthing like that, but... :roll:

Included in this batch are:
D. filiformis filiformis New Jersey (MikeB)
D. tracyi (G. Kong/Etsy)
(Two batches) D. Dreamsicle (FTC seed bank)
D. binata "Marston Dragon" OP (FTC seed bank)

The filiformis varieties will have two cups each planted, the binata only one. Each batch of Dreamsicle will be in a single cup...so two cups of more thickly seeded than the other filiformis.

I'm still a newbie at growing CPs and definitely fumbling/stumbling around when it comes to growing plants from seed. Here's my plan (for now :? )...

I hope I'm not messing up here... :?

I prepared eight 20oz styrofoam cups yesterday. They were pre-punched with three drain holes along the bottom sides of each cup using my pencil tool (patent pending). I then put a thin layer of dampened LFSM (BetterGro) to "seal" the bottom drain holes to keep the grow mix from spilling out.

The grow mix is a 50:50 mix of Majestic Earth peat moss and Vigoro perlite...both pre-rinsed with rainwater. I filled the cups to about 3/4" to 1" from the top with the 50:50 mix.