FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Ken Tadashii
Can anyone help me? I am new to carnivorous plants, i am growing mine inva terrarium. I bought drosera spatulata from a local breeder. There used to be a field of red drosera's in my terrarium but now they are all gone. I used a 1000 lumens growlight full spectrum and red and blue LED strip lights 6 inches above the plants but i dont know what is happening. The also stopped producing dews and the sarracenia which used to be red now turn into green. Please help.
Attachments:
IMG_20221206_211957.jpg
IMG_20221206_211957.jpg (3.09 MiB) Viewed 2379 times
By Sundews69
Welcome to the forum! Before I get to your question, we need to talk about the pitcher plant you've got! Typically that kind of pitcher plant (Sarracenia) aren't great in a terrarium. That is a Sarracenia purpurea and it is native to the US. During the winters where it lives naturally, it experiences cold temperatures making the plant go dormant. This dormancy period of three months is absolutely essential for the plant's survival. If it doesn't get the reduced photoperiod and cooler temperatures, over time it will slowly decline and die. So what I think you should do is research what dormancy is for pitcher plants and get a new, tropical pitcher plant that doesn't need it, if possible. I understand you may live out of the US, but there are vendors out there that can help too.

Ok, to your main question. What soil are you using and what type of water? Generally you only want to use mineral free peat moss and perlite mix or long-fibered sphagnum moss.For water you only want to use distilled, RO, and rain water.
By Shadowtski
Losing Red coloration and losing tentacles and dew is almost always a sign of inadequate light level.
Carnivorous plants are happiest with full sunlight.
Artificial light is OK but it must be equally bright to be effective.