FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Joaquinric
So im a newbie in keeping flytraps did my research and bought some peat moss. though when i opened the container it said there was lime and fertiliser in the peat. i cant return this since i already opened it anybody know how to remove the lime and fertiliser in this? i dont wanna go and buy peat moss again from a market that's 2 hours away.
By Intheswamp
Welcome to the forum, Joaquinric!

Where are you located...Philippines? If you're not needing a large bale could you order online?

I'm confused... Were the ingredients hidden inside the bag???? If so and it was advertised as 100% peat moss then opened or not it seems you have the right to return it.

Whatever the case, you *could* try rinsing it but you will need to get some test equipment to see how your *repeated* rinsings are working. A TDS meter ($15 on Amazon) and possibly a pH test kit. Neither of these should be very expensive. Also, you will need LOTS of rainwater or distilled water to rinse with unless you are fortunate and have faucet/tap water that you know has a low TDS level (you need the meter and it will be handy for years to come). Unfortunately, few people have tap-water that is safe for carnivorous plants.