FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Matthew reynolds
I gotta update on this and it is looking rather ruff looking now but I've got alot of new leaves growing and a few pitchers I still haven't determined yet what the cause of these brown spots are is there anyone our there thats familiar with fertlizer burn with these? I have a humidifier that I only run tap water threw that blows on my plants lightly but don't really get them wet would that might be causing it? If these plants have to low of humidity does that make the brown tips? If there's any experience growers of these plants I ask for ur help I'm still a big newbie at these but I have yet to kill one yet I've already counted out overwatering because I check these with a meter daily so I don't think it's water here's a recent picture I'm debating n uprooting it to look at roots but I don't want to stress it out more if it's still recovering from whatever and make it worst.
Attachments:
20221013_080949.jpg
20221013_080949.jpg (3.57 MiB) Viewed 2426 times
20221013_081037.jpg
20221013_081037.jpg (3.98 MiB) Viewed 2426 times
By Panman
Looking at the leaves, I would think overwatering or fertilizer burn. What kind of meter are you using to check moisture? I've found that the low end ones are very inaccurate.
By davinstewart
Ya, I'd disregard the meter and just water it every week or when the pitchers run out of water.

I'd also move it out of the area of the humidifier. Fungus is a big enemy of these plants and a humidifier will just encourage that. Air movement is good. Moisture laden air is bad. I grow mine without any humidification at all and they're doing well.

Definitely stop with fertilizer and repot in fresh soil if you haven't already.
By Panman