FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By Rodzun
Hello guys!

I am very new to carnivorous plants

I just bought some venus fly traps seeds and it includes around 25 seeds, and something that I can't find or figure out is, how many seeds per pot should I sow?

some people say a few, a couple etc., but not sure how to measure the word "few" "couple" "handful" as quantity of seeds per pot

it exists a limit number of seeds per pot?

I bought 2 packs of around 25 seeds each with 2 square plastic pots of 4"
VF TrapperKeeper liked this
By Bluefire
First, if you're really really new, flytraps may not be the best beginner choice for seeds. I'd go with tropical sundews, especially D. spatulata or D. capensis. Not an expert on these, but I'm sure some other people are. Since they're so small, I wouldn't bother counting them.

Edit: as is obvious, I have no knowledge of flytrap care and am not particularly good with them. Sorry.
Last edited by Bluefire on Wed Sep 21, 2022 11:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By ChefDean
Seeds may not be the best start with a new grower of VFT's, but you already have the seeds. You also need to realize they'll grow if successfully germinated.
As seeds, you could easily put 25 per pot, no worries. If you get an 80% germination, you now have 20 plants growing. Still no problem as long as they're spaced out. That might be fine for the first year. However, you'll eventually need to thin them out by separation or transplanting them to new pots.
It might be better to do perhaps 5 to 10 in each pot, and put the rest of the seeds in the fridge until you get more pots. At that number per pot, they might be OK until you replace the media in a couple of years.
Rodzun liked this
By Rodzun