FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By Nikson
Hey all,

I propagated a Pinguicula Gigantea a while ago and it's been growing really well! This is my first time growing one, so I'm not sure what they look like when they're in the smaller phase.

For some reason, mine is starting to grow really tall and is tipping over. Is this normal for a young plant? Does it eventually just get wider and I have to resituate it when the old leaves die off at the bottom?

By Sundews69
thepitchergrower wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 9:59 pm Etiolation maybe?
That's what I think. Also, what soil is that potted in? It looks a bit to organic and peaty. I think it should be ok for now, but when you repot it, give if either more perlite or sand in the mix. You can also use no peat and just perlite and sand.
Nikson liked this
By thepitchergrower
Sundews69 wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:01 pm
Also, what soil is that potted in? It looks a bit to organic and peaty. I think it should be ok for now, but when you repot it, give if either more perlite or sand in the mix. You can also use no peat and just perlite and sand.
From what I can see (or think I can see), the mix has a decent amount of mineral in it. :?
Nikson liked this
By Sundews69
thepitchergrower wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:03 pm
Also, what soil is that potted in? It looks a bit to organic and peaty. I think it should be ok for now, but when you repot it, give if either more perlite or sand in the mix. You can also use no peat and just perlite and sand.
From what I can see (or think I can see), the mix has a decent amount of mineral in it. :?
I don't really see a lot of drainage material in there. Maybe I'm just half blind, but I'm not sure. We'll see what @Nikson says.
By Sundews69
Sundews69 wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:06 pm
thepitchergrower wrote: Sun Jun 05, 2022 10:03 pm