FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By EGROEG
Hey guys, I’ve been growing my plants in this cheap greenhouse for 2 years, and it’s done my plants beautifully. I have moved it to a better spot for better lighting. However, heavy winds sent the greenhouse airborne and everything fell. Despite wiring the greenhouse to the fence through handles at the top, the wind still sent the greenhouse flying from the bottom. I had a few bricks at the bottom, obviously not enough to hold it down though. How can I add more weight to the bottom of the greenhouse without the wind flipping it over? I also wouldn’t be allowed to get a proper glass greenhouse, and the one i have is in good condition and new, so I also wouldn’t wanna waste it. Attached below is a photo of the greenhouse location where the wind knocked it over. Your ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments:
D9C42982-B05C-492D-A42E-72DFF441C220.png
D9C42982-B05C-492D-A42E-72DFF441C220.png (1.6 MiB) Viewed 6027 times
By hollyhock
Unfortunately there's not much you can do in strong winds. I also had a disaster with one like that. Mine was 6 x 8. I thought I had secured it properly to a fence with zip ties. My mistake was that I used the eyelets on the greenhouse fabric. The wind tore it and the whole thing ended upside down in the lake. If there is a way to secure the actual frame it might hold better. But again in stronger winds these type act like a parachute. Good luck.
By Jeeper
Use green steel fence posts on each corner, be careful not to tear the cover, or put them on the outside. Get the 6-8foot posts and drive them into the ground a couple feet.
By EGROEG
Thanks!! Yea hopefully I can find something