FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By PlantMom84
Hello beautiful people! I have tried everything as far as feeding it is concerned but I fail in every attempt. Does this look like a healthy Flytrap? Any tips or suggestions welcome. TIA

Love and Light,
PlantMom84
Attachments:
IMG_20230402_155508543_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230402_155508543_HDR.jpg (3 MiB) Viewed 1176 times
By McCWells
I'm not an expert, but it looks okay to me. It looks like it's producing new traps and the ones dying are just old. Here are some questions that might help us to pinpoint it health:

Are its traps dying right after they open or before catching a fly?
Is it kept in a terrarium?
Are you watering it with distilled water?
Is it sitting in a tray filled with water?
Is it in a ceramic pot?
Are you giving it nutrients of any kind beside insects?
and, what soil are you using?
By PlantMom84
No, the traps are staying alive after eating. I have it in a terrarium in the brightest area of the house. Only use distilled water. It isn't sitting in a tray of water. The pot is plastic. Was using carnivorous plants food there for awhile before trying insects. The soil is peat, sphagnum, and perlite
By PlantMom84
Usually opens after a day after eating. Don't know if I am even successfully feeding it
By McCWells
PlantMom84 wrote: I have it in a terrarium in the brightest area of the house.
That's a scary place for a VFT, it could work out, but it has a lot of downsides. Here's a care article for terrarium growing to learn more about it and to make sure you are doing the right things if you decide to keep it in the terrarium https://www.flytrapcare.com/venus-flytr ... m-growing/
Otherwise, it looks okay, but before doing anything you might want to wait on a second opinion since I've only been growing (successfully at least) for a few.
By PlantMom84