FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By hempnut
Hello, I'm new to the venus flytrap and did all my homework on them, determined that I would not have the same problems that other first timers have, but to no avail, I cannot get my plant to flourish. I have had my flytrap outdoors in the Texas sun for 2 months, and still every trap gets burned before it finishes developing. I kept saying the next one would adapt to the sun and be fine, but it is happening over and over again and I cant figure out what is wrong. I have the plant sitting in a dish that I water every day with distilled water. The water is very low level and not enough to drown the roots, it is also dry by the next day, so root rot does not appear to be an issue. The plant is also in shade during the hottest part of the day and gets 4 hours of sun. I would like to give it more sun, but it just will not adapt to it. What could be the problem? I though VFT's loved sun, but mine sure doesnt.
By linton
Could it be that your potting mix contains builtup salts or fertilisers? Or is your soil becoming overheated by the Texan sun?? If you are 100% sure that your soil is OK, I'd possibly look at double potting your plant to try and keep the root zone cooler and possibly keep it out of the hot afternoon sun until it recovers.
linton, linton liked this
By hempnut